Skip to main content

Establishment of Occupied Enemy Territory Administration South (OETA-S) (1918)

An order dated 27 October 1918 by which part of the territory occupied by the British during World War I, roughly equivalent to today’s Israel and the Palestinian Territories, was officially placed under military government. Known as Occupied Enemy Territory Administration South, or OETA-S, it formed one of three territories placed under British or French military government. It was abolished in 1920, when Palestine was placed under British civil administration, which won international recognition under the 1922 Mandate for Palestine.
Media Items
This item has no related media