Skip to main content

1978 Nobel Peace Prize Awarded to Israeli PM Begin and Egyptian President Sadat

Oslo, Norway
Menachem Begin, Israel: Recipient, Anwar Sadat, Egypt: Recipient
The 1978 Nobel Peace Prize, awarded on 10 December 1978 in Oslo, Norway, to Egyptian President Anwar Sadat and Israeli Prime Minister Menachem Begin. The award was given to the two leaders in recognition of their role in reaching the Camp David Accords earlier that year, which put in place the framework for the Israel-Egypt Peace Treaty signed in March 1979, as well as provisions for the establishment of an elected self-governing Palestinian authority. Sadat sent his representative, Ahmed Marei, to receive the prize in his name.