Skip to main content

2006 Palestinian Legislative Council Election

The second election to the Palestinian Legislative Council, enlarged to 132 seats, held 10 years after the previous elections in 1996. Hamas, which boycotted the previous elections, won 74 seats, followed by Fatah with 45 seats. No other party won more than 3 seats. Following the elections, PNA President Mahmoud Abbas designated Hamas leader Ismail Haniyeh as Prime Minister, with Haniyeh forming a Hamas-dominated government on 29 March 2006. On June 2007, violent confrontations between Fatah and Hamas resulted in the latter's taking over of the Gaza Strip by force, and the formation of two separate Palestinian governments in Gaza and the West Bank. Since then, there have been several failed attempts at forming a Fatah-Hamas unity government.