Skip to main content

Treaty of Paris (1856)

A treaty signed in Paris on 30 March 1856, ending the Crimean War, a three-year conflict in which Russia faced the Ottoman Empire, France, Britain and the Kingdom of Sardinia, which had started following disputes over the rights of Christian minorities in Palestine. Article IX of the treaty confirmed the status quo over the holy sites in Jerusalem, as elaborated in the Ottoman Sultan's firman (edict) of 1852.